Beijing, April 28, 2017

Mr. Jan Engström and Mr. Chaly Mah Have Been Appointed as External Members of AIIB’s Audit Committee

The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank announced today that Mr. Jan Engström and Mr. Chaly Mah have been appointed by President Jin Liqun as external members of the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors. The innovative combination of the board directors and the external members as members of the Audit Committee is designed to enhance good governance and accountability within the Bank.

"Both Mr. Jan Engström and Mr. Chaly Mah bring with them decades of highly relevant experience that will serve the Bank well in the years ahead," said President Jin. "Their participation will contribute greatly to the Bank’s overall efforts to build a first-class multilateral development institution with the highest standards of 21st century governance."

External Members of the Audit Committee

Mr. Jan Engström served, from 2004 to 2014, as a member of the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), the independent international standard-setting body for financial reporting. In this position, he engaged with investors, regulators, accountancy professionals, analysts, stakeholders and others as the primary liaison for Scandinavia, European industry and Latin American countries. He previously worked for the Volvo Group, for over 30 years in a variety of positions including Chief Financial Officer. He holds extensive experience in treasury, risk, planning, and restructuring functions, among others. Mr. Engström is currently lecturing and engaged on a non-executive basis in business in Sweden. Mr. Engström received his Bachelor Degree from the School of Business, Economics and Law at the University of Gothenburg. He is a national of Sweden.

Mr. Chaly Mah was the Chief Executive Officer at Deloitte Asia Pacific and Deloitte Southeast Asia. During his 38 years at this firm, he used his extensive experience to serve multinational and local companies across a wide spectrum of industries, including telecommunications and technology; financial services; private equity; manufacturing; and real estate. Mr. Mah is the Chairman of Singapore Tourism Board, Singapore International Chamber of Commerce and the Singapore Accountancy Commission. He is a member of the National University of Singapore Board of Trustees and Chairman of the National University of Singapore Business School Accounting Advisory Board. He also serves on the Boards of the Singapore Economic Development Board, Netlink NBN Management Pte. Ltd and CapitaLand Limited. Mr. Mah graduated with a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Melbourne. He is an associate member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a fellow member of CPA Australia as well as the Institute of Singapore Chartered Accountants. He is a national of Singapore.

The Terms of Reference for the Audit Committee

In January 2017, the Board of Directors approved the establishment of the Audit Committee. The Terms of Reference for the Audit Committee is as follows:

  • Review the Bank’s financial statements and accounting, auditing and financial reporting practices, procedures and issues;
  • Review the selection procedures for and the qualification and performance of the external auditors; and review the annual report from the external auditors and ensure appropriate action are taken in respect of major improvement areas identified;
  • Review the scope of work and internal audit plan; and review the effectiveness of the internal audit function and the internal control systems related to financial reporting and process; and
  • Review the effectiveness and integrity of the risk management processes and policies, information technology security and control.

Members of the Audit Committee

The Audit Committee consists of three Directors and two external members:

  • Sulaiman M. Al-Turki (Chair)
  • Timur Maksimov
  • Rionald Silaban
  • Jan Engström (external member)
  • Chaly Mah (external member)

More News Articles

Beijing, January 09, 2023

AIIB Welcomes Mauritania as New Prospective Member

The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank’s (AIIB) Board of Governors has approved Mauritania’s application, raising the Bank’s approved membership to 106. Mauritania is now AIIB’s 55th nonregional member, 21 of which are from Africa.


Beijing, December 30, 2022

AIIB Extends EUR250M to Support Egypt’s Green Public Transportation

The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank’s (AIIB) Board of Directors has approved a EUR250-million loan to Egypt for the Alexandria-Abou Qir Metro Line Project. Aiming to increase access to efficient, safe and low-carbon public transportation in the city of Alexandria, the project will upgrade and electrify the existing Alexandria-Abou Qir line. Twenty metro stations along the 22-kilometer corridor will be modernized, 13 stations and 16 kilometers of which will be elevated.


Beijing, December 12, 2022

AIIB Reinforces Commitment to Support Members’ Clean Energy Solutions

The Board of Directors of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) has approved an update to the Bank’s Energy Sector Strategy on Nov. 22, 2022. Under the updated Energy Sector Strategy, AIIB will focus its energy investments on supporting its Members to achieve their long-term climate goals and net-zero/carbon neutrality commitments and to accelerate the just transition towards secure, affordable, and sustainable energy access for all.


Beijing, December 07, 2022

AIIB Signs USD200-M On-Lending Facility to Boost Türkiye’s Climate Mitigation and Adaptation Efforts

The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) and the Industrial Development Bank of Türkiye (Türkiye Sınai Kalkınma Bankası A.Ş. or TSKB) have signed a USD200-million on-lending facility to contribute to the Republic of Türkiye’s climate mitigation and adaptation goals in line with the Paris Agreement.


Home News and Insights Media Center News Mr. Jan Engström and Mr. Chaly Mah Have Been Appointed as External Members of AIIB’s Audit Committee