2020 Presidential Election

On July 28, 2020, Jin Liqun was elected to a second term as President of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) by the Bank’s Board of Governors. The election result was announced by the Chair of AIIB’s Board of Governors.

President Jin’s second five-year term will begin Jan. 16, 2021.

The 2020 Presidential Election launched May 19, 2020 with the opening of nominations for candidates. The nomination period closed on June 18, 2020.

During the nomination process, each Governor was able to submit one nomination for the President of AIIB. Candidates had to be nationals of a regional member of the Bank. Nominees had to be able to demonstrate, among other requirements, a track record of executive leadership, impeccable integrity, and familiarity with infrastructure and international development challenges, with preference for experience in Asia. President Jin was nominated by Liu Kun, AIIB Governor and China’s Minister of Finance.

The 2020 election was governed by the Rules for the Election of the President, which had been adopted by the Board of Governors in December 2019. The Rules establish qualification criteria of the candidates and assurance mechanisms supporting an “open, transparent and merit-based" selection process, as required by the Articles of Agreement. This includes arrangements for nomination, shortlisting, interviews and the conduct of the election itself. It also provides the inclusion of the Bank’s external auditor in the process for the tally of votes.

The details of the steps of the 2020 election are provided in the Process for Election of the President.


Home About AIIB Governance 2020 Presidential Election